Jacks Valley Elementary School’s Andrew Fromdahl Named Douglas County School District’s Teacher Of The Year

Posted By on May 12, 2017

by Joey Crandall, joey@carsonvalleytimes.com · 2 min read

MINDEN, Nev. — Cited by co-workers as a fun, engaging and energetic leader, and cited by students as a “straight-up, chill dude,” Jacks Valley Elementary School’s Andrew Fromdahl was named the Douglas County School District Teacher of the Year Thursday evening at the Douglas County Education Foundation’s annual banquet at the Carson Valley Inn.

“I’m shocked,” said Fromdahl, an ESL specialist and an advisor for the school’s very active student councils, upon accepting the award. “This is a great honor.”

In presenting Fromdahl and his achievements within the district, Jacks Valley principal Pam Gilmartin described that the teacher had been reluctant at first to come to the school when he was first transferred there heading into the 2008 school year.

When the district was restructured in 2015, however, Fromdahl said he found himself pleading his case to stay at Jacks Valley.

“Things have a way of coming full circle,” he said with a laugh. “We’re a small district but there is such great effort from every employee, from the bus drivers and classified employees through the teacher’s union and on up through (superintendent) Teri White’s office. My name is on this award, but it truly goes to everybody.

“It takes a village at every school, and it takes a village in every district. I’m extremely honored, but I share this with my friends and colleagues around the district.”

Andrew Fromdahl with his district Teacher of the Year award Thursday evening.

The banquet also honored Teacher of the Year winners from every school within the district, including Fromdahl for Jacks Valley, Karissa Kondo (Carson Valley Middle School); Daniel Hyden (Pau-Wa-Lu Middle School); Susan VanDoren (Whittell High School); Alecia Rhode (ASPIRE Academy High School); April Crandall (Jacobsen High School); Roger Rusmisel (Douglas High School); Chandie Kupper (Meneley Elementary School); Robin Tinius (Gardnerville Elementary School); Tamar McKeon (Minden Elementary School); Reggell Bertolone (Pinon Hills Elementary School); Donna Harker (Scarselli Elementary School); and Ashley Boulet (Zephyr Cove Elementary School).

The staff at each school nominates one of their peers as the Teacher of the Year for their school and the school district staff makes the final selection for the overall district-level award.