Nevada Area Boys Scouts Of America Recognize 2016 Silver Beaver Honorees

Posted By on March 15, 2017

Courtesy of Nevada Area Council of Boys Scouts of America · 2 min read
MINDEN, Nev. — Recognizing volunteers for their amazing dedication to youth is a tradition for the Nevada Area Council of Boy Scouts of America.

That tradition continued Friday, March 3 at the Council Recognition Dinner, held in Reno, as eight of the 10 Silver Beaver 2016 Honorees received this top honor for volunteers. Two honorees had previously received their Silver Beavers at a gathering in Elko.
As each Scouter received their award, their long list of accomplishments was read. They included sitting on Eagle Scout Boards of Review, being advisers, Scoutmasters, Commissioners, Committee Chairs and cooking skills.

Others receiving recognition were Charles Baumbauch of Troop 60 for his Eagle project; Dianna King of Crew 711 received the Sea Scout Leadership Award and Venturing Leadership Award; James Beaver, Sea Scout Leadership Award; Meritorious Action Award to Emilee Langer for assisting victims of a head-on collision; and the North Star Award to Dr. Robert Weed his many leadership roles.

Nevada Area Council also welcomed its new Council President, Col. Dan Waters, for a two-year term. Waters and a Board of Directors will guide NAC as it forms new partnerships with diverse organizations to further the Scouting experience for youth.

2016 Silver Beaver Recipients are Steve Kenzer, left, Ron Thornton, Rita Hemmert, Derek Allen, Thierry Barkley, Alan
Perazzo, David Van Wagenen and Brian Crane.
Photo courtesy of Nevada Area Council of Boy Scouts of America

2016 Silver Beaver Honorees
– Kurt Alleman, Overland District
– Derek Allen, Northstar District
– Thierry Barkley, Northstar District
– Brian Crane, Northstar District
– Rita Hemmert, Sierra District
– Steve Kenzer, Northstar District
– Alan Perazzo, Pony Express District
– Ronald Thornton, Pinenut District
– Kerry Tuckett, Humboldt District
– David Van Wagenen, Pinenut District