Western Nevada College Offers Driver’s Education Classes

Posted By on March 3, 2017

Courtesy of Western Nevada College · 1 min read

CARSON CITY, Nev. — Safety tips, driving regulations and handling peer pressure are all covered in Driver Education courses offered by Western Nevada College.

Teens age 15 and older are eligible. Each session includes four days of instruction, 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Cost is $100.

Carson City campus
• Monday through Thursday, March 20-23
• Saturdays, April 1, 8, 22 and 29
• Saturdays, May 6, 13, 20 and June 3

Douglas campus
• Saturdays, March 4, 11, 18 and 25

Fallon campus
• Monday through Thursday, April 17-20
• Saturdays, May 6, 13, 20 and June 3

Fernley High School
• Monday through Thursday, April 3-6

In addition to Nevada driving regulations, the course covers how to handle distractions and peer pressure, and how to prevent falling asleep at the wheel or driving under the influence.

Speakers include public safety officials and insurance representatives. Instruction includes tips on how to drive safely around large trucks and motorcycles, and how to avoid unexpected objects in the road, as well as maneuvering safely through roundabouts, and rules for driving in bad weather.

WNC also offers an online 30-Hour New Driver Education class for $90. This course provides a solid foundation of the knowledge and skills necessary to become a safe driver. Register at any time. Students have 60 days from the date of registration to complete the course.
Nevada law requires new drivers younger than 18 to take a 30-hour New Driver Education course if one is offered within 30 miles of their home.
For more information, call 775-445-4463 or contact Tracy.Bradfute@wnc.edu. To learn more information about WNC’s Continuing Education classes or to register, go to www.wnc.edu/continuing-education/.