Western Nevada College offers driver’s education for ages 15 and older
Story courtesy of Western Nevada College
CARSON CITY – New Driver Education courses for teens age 15 and older will be offered by Western Nevada College over the winter break and in spring 2014. The cost for the winter break class is $95. After January, the cost will be $100. Each session includes four days of instruction, 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
WNC will offer one winter break class in Carson City, Monday, Dec. 30 and Thursday, Friday and Saturday, January 2, 3, 4 (no class Tuesday and Wednesday, December 31 and January 1) at Silver State Charter High School.
Three spring courses will meet on the WNC Carson City Campus on Saturdays, February 1-March 1 (no class February 16, President’s Day weekend); Saturdays, March 15-April 5; and Monday-Thursday, April 14-17 (Carson High School spring break).
Two classes will be offered in Douglas County at the Eastfork Fire Station in Genoa, Saturdays, March 1-22, and Monday-Thursday, April 21-24 (Douglas High School spring break).
Young drivers will learn safe driving techniques through lectures, class discussion, guest speakers, and films that cover Nevada driving regulations, basic vehicle control, and driving maneuvers in various situations and environments. Nevada state law requires new drivers under age 18 to take a 30-hour New Driver Education course if one is offered within 30 miles of their home.
In addition to Nevada driving regulations, the course covers how to handle distractions, peer pressure, and how to prevent falling asleep at the wheel and driving under the influence. Speakers include public safety officials and insurance representatives. Instruction includes tips on how to drive safely around large trucks and motorcycles and avoid unexpected objects in the road, as well as maneuvering safely through roundabouts and rules for driving in bad weather.
To register for the non-credit class go to http://www.wnc.edu/drivereducation/. For more information call 445-4458.