Western Nevada College driver’s education courses for Douglas County, Carson City
by Anne Hansen, Western Nevada College
CARSON CITY – Multiple sessions of New Driver Education for teens 15 years and older will be offered through Western Nevada College this fall and during the winter break. Each course is $95, and meets for four days from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Two sessions will be offered at WNC Carson City campus, Saturdays, September 21-October 12 and October 19-November 23 (Class will not meet on October 26 and November 9.)
One session will be offered at Silver State High School, 788 Fairview Drive, Carson City over the winter break. The class will meet Monday, Dec. 30, and Thursday-Saturday, Jan. 2-4. An additional session will be offered in Douglas County at the East Fork Fire Station, 1450 Stephanie Lane, Minden, on Saturdays, Sept. 28-Oct. 19.
Nevada state law requires new drivers under age 18 to take a 30-hour New Driver Education course if one is offered within 30 miles of their home. In addition to Nevada driving regulations, the course covers how to handle distractions and peer pressure, and how to prevent falling asleep at the wheel and driving under the influence. Students will learn tips on driving safely around large trucks and motorcycles, avoiding unexpected objects in the road, maneuvering safely through roundabouts and driving in inclement weather.
Public safety officials and insurance representatives will offer information during the class.
Register for the non-credit class at http://www.wnc.edu/drivereducation/, or call 445-4458 for additional information.